High Protein Oatmeal

It jumped straight from summer to winter here in California and there’s nothing more comforting on a cold morning than a warm bowl of oatmeal. I love oatmeal for its heartiness but I noticed that it never kept me full for long. Oatmeal itself, while healthier than most other breakfast alternatives, is mostly carbs, very little protein (the average oatmeal has about 5-6 grams of protein per serving), and a small amount of fiber. Without adequate protein, oatmeal will just make you hungry shortly after eating it. A few weeks ago, I started Googling high protein oatmeal recipes and came across two that I ended up combining. The first one is this Thick and Fluffy Egg White Oatmeal by Eating Bird Food and the second one is her Greek Yogurt Oatmeal. My goal whenever I eat meals is to maximize the protein content because I know it’ll keep me full for much longer. Here’s my combined version of Eating Bird Food’s high protein oatmeal recipes.

Ingredients:

  • 48 grams or 1/2 c. old fashioned oats (I use Bob’s Red Mill organic, gluten-free oats, which you can find at Walmart, Target, Whole Foods, and other major grocery stores, as well as Amazon)
  • 60 grams or 1/4 c. liquid egg whites
  • 2 scoops Vital Proteins collagen powder
  • 57 grams or 1/4 c. FAGE 0% Fat Greek yogurt
  • 21 grams or 1 tbsp. honey
  • Cinnamon to taste
  • A pinch of salt

Preparation:

Boil one cup water with a dash of cinnamon and a pinch of salt. Add in your oats and cook on low to medium heat until cooked, approximately 5-10 minutes. Add in your liquid egg whites and stir/whisk quickly for one minute so that the egg whites absorb but don’t form into egg whites. Turn off and remove from heat. Add your collagen powder, Greek yogurt, and honey. Add more cinnamon, if desired. Add your favorite toppings (I love using fresh mixed berries.)

When I first read Eating Bird Food’s egg white oatmeal recipe, I was honestly a little taken aback by it. The thought of egg whites in oatmeal sounded really unappetizing but all it really does is add tons of volume and creaminess to your oatmeal. It won’t cook into egg whites if you stir/whisk it quickly.

This is now my favorite way to enjoy oatmeal. If you try it, I would love to hear what you thought of it.

Nutrition facts per serving (serves 1): 384 calories, 3 g fat, 36.7 g protein, 51.7 g carbs

Leave a comment