Gluten-Free Baked Chicken Tenders

The chicken I made last night looks like fried chicken but is actually baked and it has only 1 gram of carbs per serving! OMG, yes, I said only 1 gram of carbs!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 c. almond meal
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 pounds boneless chicken breasts
  • 1 egg

Preparation:

Mix the almond meal, paprika, salt, pepper, and Parmesan cheese together in a bowl. In a separate bowl, beat the egg. Cut your chicken breast lengthwise into 10 strips. Dip each piece of chicken into the egg, put it inside the bowl with the almond meal and seasonings, and give the bowl a few shakes, so that the chicken tenders get evenly coated.  Lay the chicken tenders flat on a greased cookie sheet and bake in a 425 degree heated oven for a total of 16 minutes; after the first 8 minutes, flip the chicken tenders over, allowing both sides to brown nicely.

Chicken 1

Chicken 2

Lift each chicken tender up with tongs, allow to cool for a few minutes, and enjoy!

Chicken 3

Chicken 4

I love how these look fried but are actually baked. Yum! And, did I mention each tender only has 1 gram of carbs?! Now, how can you beat that?

4 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Baked Chicken Tenders

  1. Thank you for the recipe, and 1 gram of carbs? Crazy. I’m going to try this recipe this weekend.

    PS: I ditched the aluminum foil about a month ago in favor of parchment paper. I found some at my local health food store.

    • You’re welcome! Feel free to add your favorite spices, in addition to what I listed. My husband told me this was a little bland for his taste but since I wasn’t sure what to expect the first time I made this, I didn’t want to go overboard with the spices.

      Yes, I’ve been meaning to get some parchment paper, actually! I’ve been having to use foil because I keep forgetting to pick some up.

      Let me know how the tenders turn out! Thanks for stopping by!

      P.S. The 1 gram of carbs tripped me out, too!

      • Sara,

        I added garlic, a bit of cayenne, and some dried Italian herbs in addition to the ingredients you listed. It turned out perfect. I shared it with my roommate, and he agreed; awesome recipe!

        Here’s how mine turned out:

        Thanks again!

  2. Oh my goodness, Karl! These look absolutely delicious! I’m so happy that you and your roommate both loved the tenders. Great idea to add the cayenne, Italian herbs, and garlic powder. I am sure those added a really nice kick to it.

    I really wanted to use garlic powder in mine but the SCD forbids store bought garlic powders, since they have starch. 😦 Next time I’ll need to use your idea and add the dried Italian herbs. Yum!

Leave a Reply

