Gluten-Free Pizza

Earlier this week I was in the mood for pizza but, of course, since I’ve dedicated myself to the SCD diet, I wasn’t going to give in to temptation that easily. Instead, I read through Elaine Gottschall’s wonderful book, again, and found a gluten-free recipe. I’ll be honest, it doesn’t taste like the usual greasy and delicious pizza we’ve all come to love but it was pretty darn good. So good that I actually made it twice this week. It’s also so filling, since it’s made from almond flour, that I can never eat more than half of it at a time. Get your ingredients ready! Here is what you’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup almond flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • Herbs of your choice (I used Italian seasonings)
  • Cheddar cheese
  • Grated Parmesan cheese
  • Veggies of your choice
  • 2 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil

Mix all the ingredients, minus the olive oil, together until you get a dough-like consistency. Drizzle your pizza pan with the olive oil or use a baking sheet with foil on top, like I did, and drizzle that with olive oil. Form the dough into a ball and then, shape it into a circle. You can make it as big or as small as you like, depending on what size you want your pizza to be.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and put your pizza crust in the oven while the oven is preheating, since it’ll give the crust time to get brown and toasty. In the meantime, slice up the veggies you want to put on your pizza. I used tomatoes and spinach as my toppings.

Once your oven signals that it’s been preheated, take the pizza crust out. I added two slices of cheddar cheese on top (you can also sprinkle shredded cheese on top, which I didn’t have at the time), followed by spinach and tomatoes. I also grated some Parmesan cheese on top and drizzled some olive oil over it. Put it back in the oven for 10 minutes, remove, and enjoy!

Image

Leave a Reply

